About - Sir Rashbehari Ghosh Mahavidyalaya


A renowned Indian politician, lawyer, social worker Sir Rashbehari Ghosh was born on 23 December 1845 in the village Torkona of Khandaghosh in Burdwan. Rashbehari Ghosh was educated at Burdwan Raj Collegiate School and then he entered the Presidency College of Calcutta. He obtained a first class in the M.A. examination in English. In 1871 he passed with honours the Law examination and in 1884 he was awarded the degree of Doctor of Laws.

Ghosh was a member of the Indian National Congress and leaned towards the moderate wing. Incidentally, he became the President of the Congress for two terms in 1907 and in 1908. During the periods 1891–94 and 1906–09 Ghosh became a member of the Bengal Legislative Council. It is a matter of pride that he was knighted in 1915 and he was offered an honorary DL degree from Calcutta University in 1884.

It is a matter of lamentation that he died on 28th February, 1921. Hope the authority of the college will be influenced by his progressive ideological outlook. The present College Authority has already taken a decision to publish a book about this renowned personality.



Sir Rashbehari Ghosh Mahavidyalaya was established through a notification of the Government of West Bengal (Memo No. 608-Edn 9CS)/4C-60/10, dated 05.08.2010). The College got its conditional affiliation when the University of Burdwan directed to start the academic programme through its Letter No. IC/Affln/P/179/518, dated 18.08.2010. At its inception the College offered Three Year Degree Course in Arts with the subjects available – Bengali, English, History, Political Science and Sanskrit in the Academic Session 2010-2011. Eventually the College was started on 15th September, 2010 with 59 students, 5 temporary teaching staffs and 2 temporary non-teaching staffs in the building of Ukhrid High School (Morning Shift). The building of the College was initiated through a grand ceremony on 10th October, 2010 in the presence of the then Chief Minister of the Government of West Bengal. Further development occurred when the College got permission from the University of Burdwan to start Honours Course in English and History.

Following a recommendation from West Bengal College Service Commission (WBCSC), Dr Debabrata Ghosh joined the College as its first Principal on 1st September, 2012. Later, the College was shifted to its own building adjacent to Ukhrid High School on 31st May, 2013. From the Academic Session 2013-2014, three more subjects were added to the honours courses – Bengali, Political Science and Sanskrit and one more subject was added to the general courses - Philosophy. From the Academic Session 2016-2017, Philosophy Honours and Education General were also introduced.

After almost two years, WBCSC also recommended four full-time Assistant Professors (Bengali, English, Political Science and Sanskrit) who have joined the College in the Session 2014-2015. However unfortunately, WBCSC could not recommend any candidate against the sanctioned post of Assistant Professor in History in the ST category due possibly to insufficient number of successful candidates. Hence, the College is now offering six Honours and seven General Courses to almost 650 students with the help of a Principal, four Assistant Professors, 16 Guest Teachers, a temporary Clerk and a temporary Office Bearer. The College is still suffering from severe infrastructural and financial problems.

The College would not be able to see the light of the day without the ever-present helping hands of the local people. For the College building, we have received plot and land from Shyamsundar Sen, Mritunjoy Sen, Ziaul Haque Sarkar, A.K. Enamul Haque Middya, Debjit Ghosh, Nabagouranga Pratihar, Avijit Ray, Sk Shajahan, Sk Ramjan, Ramgopal Banerjee, Liyakat Ali Khan and many others.

The College has received economic help from Swadesh Kumar Ray, Gokulananda Ray, Debjit Ghosh, Mritunjoy Sen, Tarak Sarkar, Gourishankar Tah, Gurapada Mandal, Kalipada Ray, Jagannath Konar, Lakhikanta Das, Janmenjoy Khan, Nisith Adhikari, Sanjib Kumar Ray, Kazi Ekram Hossen, Golam Aspia, Mainuddin Ahmed, Shailen Nath, Amiya Kumar Jash, Udaychand Hazra, Joykali Sarkar, Narugopal Mallick, Harun Al Rashid Middya, Kamrul Alam, Arathisudan Panja, Shyamchand Ray, Mritunjoy Ray, Samit Kumar Ghosh, Manasa Mata Rice Mill, Sasanga Gram Panchayet, Modern Brick Field and many more.


1. Deshabandhu Hazra (President)
2. Jagadish Pal (Vice President)
3. Arpan Prasad Ghsoh (Member)
4. Sk. Shajahan (Member)
5. Shyamsundar Sen (Member)
6. Swadesh Kumar Ray (Member)
7. Sunirmal Mukherjee (Member)
8. Gaurhari Das (Member)
9. Debjit Ghosh (Member)
10. Sanjib Kumar Ray (Member)
11. Rabindra Nath Ghosh (Member)
12. Mritunjoy Sen (Member)
13. Harun Al Rashid Middya (Member)
14. Liyakat Ali Khan (Member)
15. Manas Kumar Banerjee (Member)

(Vide Letter No. IC/GB/P/179/446, dated 10.12.2013.)

1. Jehangir Hossein (President)
2. Dr Debabrata Ghosh (Principal and Secretary)
3. Swadesh Kumar Ray (Member)
4. Kalosona Roy (Member)
5. Sabina Begum (Member)
6. Md. Akbar Ali (Member)
7. Pranab Tah (Member)

(Vide Letter No. IC/GB/P-179/412 Dated 03.08.2016)

1. Nabin Chandra Bag (President)
2. Dr Debabrata Ghosh (Principal and Ex-Officio Secretary)
3. Dr Salauddin Khan, University Nominee
4. Dr Rupashree Chatterjee, University Nominee
5. Dr Sandipan Ghosh, University Nominee
6. Pranab Tah, State Government's Representative
7. Aparthiba Islam, Donors' Representative
8. Indrani Bose, Teachers' Representative
9. Jayanta Biswas, Teachers' Representative
10. Dr Ankur Konar, Teachers' Representative
11. General Secretary, Students' Union

Many other infrastructural plans will have to be materialised and we may then hope that this College will establish itself as an academic space of excellence in the south Damodar region in the near future.

© Sir Rashbehari Ghosh Mahavidyalaya 2022 |Site Developed By DARI Informatics Services Pvt. Ltd.