About Sir Rashbehari Ghosh Mahavidyalaya

Sir Rashbehari Ghosh Mahavidyalaya was established through a notification of the Government of West Bengal (Memo No. 608-Edn 9CS)/4C-60/10, dated 05.08.2010). The College got its conditional affiliation when the University of Burdwan directed to start the academic programme through its Letter No. IC/Affln/P/179/518, dated 18.08.2010. At its inception, the College offered Three Year Degree Course in Arts with the subjects available – Bengali, English, History, Political Science and Sanskrit in the Academic Session 2010-2011. Eventually the College was started on 15th September, 2010 with 59 students, 5 temporary teaching staffs and 2 temporary non-teaching staffs in the building of the Ukhrid High School (Morning Shift). The building of the College was initiated through a grand ceremony on 10th December, 2010 in the presence of the then Chief Minister of the Government of West Bengal. Further development occurred when the College got permission from the University of Burdwan to start Honours Courses in English and History. Following a recommendation from the West Bengal College Service Commission (WBCSC), Dr Debabrata Ghosh joined the College as its first Principal on 1st September, 2012. Later, the College was shifted to its own building adjacent to the Ukhrid High School on 31st May, 2013. From the Academic Session 2013-2014, three more subjects were added to the honours courses – Bengali, Political Science and Sanskrit and one more subject was added to the general courses - Philosophy. After almost two years, the WBCSC also recommended four full-time Assistant Professors (Bengali, English, Political Science and Sanskrit) who have joined the College in the Session 2014-2015. However unfortunately, the WBCSC could not recommend any candidate against the sanctioned post of Assistant Professor in History in the ST category due possibly to insufficient number of successful candidates. Hence, the College is now offering six Honours and seven General Courses to almost 500 students with the help of a Principal ( on lien) four Assistant Professors, 15 Guest Teachers, a temporary Clerk and a temporary Office Bearer. The College is still suffering from severe infrastructural and financial problems.

The College would not be able to see the light of the day without the ever-present helping hands of the local people. For the College Building, we have received plots of land from Shyamsundar Sen, Mritunjoy Sen, Ziaul Haque Sarkar, A. K. Enamul Haque Middya, Debjit Ghosh, Nabagouranga Pratihar, Avijit Ray, Sk. Shajahan, Sk. Ramjan, Ramgopal Banerjee, Liyakat Ali Khan and many others. The College has received economic help from Swadesh Kumar Ray, Gokulananda Ray, Debjit Ghosh, Mritunjoy Sen, Tarak Sarkar, Gourishankar Tah, Gurapada Mandal, Kalipada Ray, Jagannath Konar, Lakhikanta Das, Janmenjoy Khan, Nisith Adhikari, Sanjib Kumar Ray, Kazi Ekram Hossen, Golam Aspia, Mainuddin Ahmed, Shailen Nath, Amiya Kumar Jash, Udaychand Hazra, Joykali Sarkar, Narugopal Mallick, Harun Al Rashid Middya, Kamrul Alam, Arathisudan Panja, Shyamchand Ray, Mritunjoy Ray, Samit Kumar Ghosh, Manasa Mata Rice Mill, Sasanga Gram Panchayet, Modern Brick Field and many more.